Michael’s dissertation experience

My name is Michael and I’m an MSc Psychology (Conversion) student at the University of Stirling. I recently finished my research project investigating the brain wave activity associated with watching ASMR (Autonomous Sensory Meridian Response). Due to COVID-19 restrictions, this project was conducted outside of the normal EEG lab setting and instead at the home of both myself and my fellow project partner. We recorded EEG activity using the MUSE2 headset (a mobile EEG device) while participants watched ASMR. Due to the small sample size (n=4) we ran the experiment each day, over the course of 30 days to investigate any potential longitudinal effect. We were interested in other parameters associated with ASMR, such as its effect on state anxiety levels and its ability to produce a tingling sensation. We used Qualtrics to streamline our experiment to allow for both the presentation of the video stimuli and administration of various measurements. We then analysed our data using MATLAB (with help from Christian), which was a challenging but rewarding experience. Learning how to handle and analysis EEG data was one of the best skills I learned through the project.  

If I could give one piece of advice to my past self it would be to know your methods inside and out. Know your experiment design like the back of your hand; make sure you know exactly what the measurement you are using measures, and how/why you are analysing your data. Once you know how you are carrying out your experiment, the “why” pretty much falls into place. P.S. Embrace any opportunity to learn some coding, it’s a great skill to have and can make certain tasks ten times easier.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started